Home  Excerpts  Reviews  British Gallantry Awards  To Order

Courage Rewarded

The British Gallantry Awards

During the Second World War, the Dominion of Canada, as part of the British Empire, followed the traditions for honours and awards which could be awarded to officers and men of His Majesty's fighting forces in recognition of outstanding service. The tradition for awarding decorations for gallantry began in the nineteenth century and gradually grew into an extensive system of military honours and awards.

The precedence of these orders and decorations is regulated by the British Central Chancery of the Orders of Knighthood. The awards mentioned in this book include:

  1. The Victoria Cross
  2. The Distinguished Service Order
  3. Decorations:
  • Foreign Orders, Decorations and Medals. These include such awards as the Netherlands' Militaire Willems-Ordre and the American Silver and Bronze Stars